Banana Bars

Here I go, starting another blog.  This time it’s going to be all about food which is so absolutely my passion.  I have always been into food, particularly baking, but it’s been an on again off again thing due to my various living arrangements.  A few years ago I read Elizabeth Wurtzel’s The Secret of Life: Commonsense Advice for the Uncommon Woman and one piece of advice that jumped out at me went something along the lines of: that to have an obsession is a beneficial healthy thing, something that occupies your time and makes you happy.  When I read this, I realised that my obsession, the something that makes me happiest, is obviously cooking.  After that I started cooking and baking again at any opportunity – birthdays, Christmas, housewarmings – and now I often bake “just because” and take the resulting slices, cookies, cakes and cupcakes to work or my best friend’s house just so I don’t have to eat the whole lot myself.

For my first post I feel as though it should have been of something much more impressive looking, but, these Banana Bars were just so soft and more-ish that I have to blog about them! I bought a $1 bag bananas at the Prahran Market the other week thinking to make banana bread, but instead I came across this recipe in one of my go to cookbooks for slices and cookies: Nestle Toll House: Best-Loved Cookies and I had to give it a go.

Banana Bars

2 cups plain flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
190 g butter, chopped and at room temperature
⅔ cup caster sugar
⅔ cup brown sugar, firmly packed
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup mashed banana
1 egg
2 cups dark choc chips

Prepare by preheating the oven to 180C and grease then line a 30x15cm slice tin.

Sift flour and baking powder together in a medium bowl. Add salt.

With an electric mixer, cream butter, caster sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in a large bowl. Beat in bananas and egg until just combined. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir through choc chips.

Pour batter into prepared pan and smooth the surface. Bake in preheated oven for 20 – 30 minutes or until a skewer inserted in the centre comes out clean. Allow to cool completely in the pan. Cut into squares to serve.

2 responses

  1. I love this!! I truly do!! and they look DELICIOUS!!!! I love cooking too.. It’s fun to make different kinds of foods and take on new challenges.. Even more fun to have people to feed the food to!!! I really wanna do some cake-decorating but for me I think it will need to wait til Summer.. Cos uni takes up so much time!!

Leave a Reply

